The Beatitudes Part 2: Blessed Are Those Who Mourn

The Beatitudes Part 2: Blessed Are Those Who Mourn

Last week, we started looking at the Beatitudes. We first looked at Matthew 5:3 and what it means to be “poor in spirit”. (You can read Beatitudes Part 1 here.)

Today we are looking at Matthew 5:4.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.” – Matthew 5:4

What does it mean to mourn?

This word “mourning” can also mean “wail” or “bewail”. “To wail” means to give a cry of pain, grief, or anger. “Bewail” means to express great regret, disappointment, or bitterness over something. This mourning comes after we realize that we are broken sinners and become “poor in spirit” (Matt. 5:3). This mourning is regret and grief over our sinful nature. This is a godly sorrow that produces repentance and leads us to salvation.

What does it mean to be comforted?

This word “comforted” means “to call near”. We realize our brokenness and mourn over it because God has shown us our sinful nature and called us to Him. He calls us to repent, confessing our sins and turning away from them and towards Him. He calls us to believe and gives us faith in Him.

For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God. — Ephesians 2:8

Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come. — 2 Corinthians 5:17

Once we realize our brokenness, ask God’s forgiveness, and turn away from our sin, God makes us a new creature. We are no longer living for ourselves or for this world. We live for Christ who paid the penalty for the wrongdoings we committed. He willing paid that price so that we could be free from our sin. Be comforted in knowing you serve a God who loves you enough to pay the price for your sin and draw near to Him.

I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me. — Galatians 2:20

We have been bought with a great price. We are no longer our own; we belong to Christ. That is a great comfort.

Read Part 3 as we learn from Matthew 5:5

Your sister in Christ,

A Rising Generation Meagan Nicole

The Beatitudes Part 1: Blessed Are the Poor in Spirit

The Beatitudes Part 2: Blessed Are Those Who Mourn

The Beatitudes Part 3: Blessed Are the Meek

The Beatitudes Part 4: Blessed Are Those Who Hunger and Thirst for Righteousness

The Beatitudes Part 5: Blessed Are the Merciful

The Beatitudes Part 6: Blessed Are the Pure in Heart

The Beatitudes Part 7: Blessed Are the Peacemakers

The Beatitudes Part 8: Blessed Are Those Who Are Persecuted


There was an issue loading your timed LeadBox™. Please check plugin settings.
There was an issue loading your exit LeadBox™. Please check plugin settings.

You may also like


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *